Free UK mainland delivery on orders over £250 | Can't find what you want or out of stock? Give us a call on 0131 516 7561

Marvin Gaye - Collected [Vinyl LP]

Regular price £34.00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Marvin Gaye - Collected - 12" Vinyl LP Record

2LP on 180g Audiophile Vinyl

Music On Vinyl proudly presents a special edition of the Marvin Gaye Collected album. This deluxe edition is released in celebration of what would have been Marvin Gaye's 80th birthday on April 2nd, 2019. The world lost one of the most important soul singers ever to grace the world on 1st April 1984. He has left behind a series of fantastic hits plus a handful of tracks which deserve the title of masterpiece, all Collected on this album.

Motown Records released the first Marvin Gaye record in 1961 "(I'm Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over", a single intended for (radio) promotion from the singer's debut album. This was followed up by the officially released "Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide" a week later. Gaye scored his first real hit with "Stubborn Kind of Fellow" in 1962, which he had co-written himself, joking about his alleged stubbornness. He found his own unique style with the single released at the end of the year: "Hitch Hike". The foundations were now laid for an enormous series of chart successes: "Pride And Joy", "Can I Get A Witness", "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)" and "Ain't That Peculiar" are all Motown classics from 1963-1965 which are still being regularly played today after all these years. The duets he recorded with Kim Weston ("It Takes Two") and especially Tammi Terrell were certainly at least as good.

He scored his biggest ever hit with "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" in 1968. "What's Going On" from the same-titled album became a number 1 hit in the USA and the album was received as a masterpiece everywhere and is now regarded as one of the most important records in pop history. In 1973, the artistically and commercially very successful, "Let's Get It On" album was mainly a musical ode to Marvin's love for his new muse Janis Hunter. The success enjoyed by "Sexual Healing" and the album which was released at the end of 1982, traveled with him. Suddenly Gaye, who had started to increasingly be forgotten about, was a celebrated star again and this was certainly a position the singer reveled in.

Marvin Gaye Collected is housed in a gatefold sleeve with special spot varnish and contains 2 printed innersleeves and 2 exclusive postcards.


A1    Marvin Gaye    –    (I'm Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over
A2    Marvin Gaye    –    Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
A3    Marvin Gaye    –    Hitch Hike
A4    Marvin Gaye    –    Pride And Joy
A5    Marvin Gaye    –    Can I Get A Witness
A6    Marvin Gaye & Mary Wells    –    Once Upon A Time
A7    Marvin Gaye    –    Stubborn Kind Of Fellow
A8    Marvin Gaye    –    How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)

B1    Marvin Gaye & Kim Weston    –    It Takes Two
B2    Marvin Gaye    –    I'll Be Doggone
B3    Marvin Gaye    –    Ain't That Peculiar
B4    Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell    –    Ain't No Mountain High Enough
B5    Marvin Gaye    –    I Heard It Through The Grapevine
B6    Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell    –    Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing
B7    Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell    –    You're All I Need To Get By
B8    Marvin Gaye    –    Too Busy Thinking About My Baby

C1    Marvin Gaye    –    What's Going On
C2    Marvin Gaye    –    Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
C3    Marvin Gaye    –    Inner City Blue (Make Me Wanna Holler)
C4    Marvin Gaye    –    Trouble Man
C5    Marvin Gaye    –    Let's Get It On
C6    Marvin Gaye    –    You Are Everything

D1    Marvin Gaye    –    Distant Lover
D2    Marvin Gaye    –    I Want You
D3    Marvin Gaye    –    Got To Give Up
D4    Marvin Gaye    –    Heavy Love Affair
D5    Marvin Gaye    –    Sexual Healing
D6    Marvin Gaye    –    Sanctified Lady

Music On Vinyl - MOVLP1818
UPC: 0600753502525